Is Oatly Oat Milk Gluten-Free? – Let’s Find Out!

A question I get often is, are Oats gluten-free? In this article, we dive into Is Oatly Oatmilk Gluten-Free and why it’s essential to understand why some Oats and Oat milk brands are not gluten-free. Let’s Dive In!

Hands pouring milk into cereal

If you have Celiac Disease or are on a strict gluten-free diet, you can’t have gluten of any kind. Because of this, the type of oats and oat milk you drink must be chosen carefully. When you go to the grocery store and stare at all the possible plant milk options, you need to know definitively which brands are indeed gluten-free.

It’s essential to choose Oatmilk Brands that clearly state on the label that the product is gluten-free. Ideally, the oats should be certified gluten-free, adding another level of safety supervision in gluten-free oats products. This is of particular importance to those with Celiac Disease.

Oatly Oatmilk US products are Gluten-Free

After spending a lot of time on the Oatly website, I am excited to report that Oatly US products are certified gluten-free. Learn more about Oatly Products like oat milk and frozen desserts. Oatly states on its website that the oats it uses are third-party certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).

Some People With Celiac Disease React To Avenin in Oats

Most people who have celiac disease can have oats. However, a few people with gluten intolerance may also have an oat sensitivity due to the avenin protein in oats.

Avenin is a protein in oats that makes up a much smaller percentage of the grain than gluten does in wheat. It provides the chewy texture in oat products. This protein can sometimes elicit an immune response in susceptible individuals, such as celiac patients.

  • Before I enthusiastically state that anyone can use Oatly Oat Products. Some gluten-sensitive individuals and people with celiac disease react to oats. However, most can have a small amount of gluten-free oats a day. Since everyone reacts differently to gluten and oats, I would check this question out with your gastroenterologist or certified dietitian. Registered Dietitian Tiffany Torok, MA, RDN, wrote a great article on Delectable Food Life; you can check out Are Oats Gluten-Free, let’s Find Out.
  • While there isn’t a consensus in the medical community about how much oats someone with celiac disease can have in one day, research has shown that a diet including up to 50-70 g/day of oats is safe for most adults following a gluten-free diet, and 20-25 g/day for children. This is equal to 1/2-2/3 cup of dry oats for adults and 1/4 cup of dry oats for children.
Oatly Oatmilk with glass of Oatmilk

What You’ll Love About Oatly Oatmilk

  • It has a creamy texture
  • It’s a plant-based milk
  • Oatly Oatmilk is an excellent alternative to dairy milk
  • Neutral taste profile perfect to add to cereal, coffee, and smoothies
  • Oatley is fortified with vitamins
  • Low in calories
  • Suitable for someone on a strict gluten-free diet
  • The plain unflavored Oatly brand has no added sugar
  • Oatly products are also Vegan


These are the gluten-free ingredients in Oatly Oatmilk.

Gluten Free Oat Flour with Sign
  • Oat base (water, oats).
  • Contains 2% or less of: low erucic acid rapeseed oil
  • dipotassium phosphate,
  • calcium carbonate
  • tricalcium phosphate
  • sea salt, dicalcium phosphate
  • riboflavin,
  • vitamin A
  • vitamin D2
  • vitamin B12

Ingredient Notes

Make Your Easy Oatmilk from Scratch

This is impossibly easy and produces the most delicious homemade oat milk.

  1. Take 1 cup of old-fashioned certified gluten-free oatmeal and soak the oats in one cup of water. (We love Bob’s Mill Certified Gluten-Free Old Fashioned Oats)
  2. Drain the oats and add them to a high-speed blender with 4 cups of water. Blend until smooth and creamy. Add vanilla or any sweeteners to taste. I love vanilla, a few tablespoons of maple syrup, and cinnamon. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.
Glass of oatmilk and stack of oats

Frequently Asked Questions about Which Oatly Oatmilk Brands Are Gluten-Free

What is Rapeseed Oil?

Rapeseed oil is also known as Canola Oil.

What is the Barista edition of Oatly Oat Milk?

The Barista edition of Oatly Oatmilk has more fat to give it a creamier consistency and is 140 calories a cup.

Does Oatly Make Ice Cream or Frozen Desserts?

Oatly makes a variety of non-dairy, gluten-free Frozen Desserts

Are all Brands of Oatly Oatmilk Gluten-Free?

According to the Oatly website, all the Oatly products are gluten-free in the US.

I hope you loved this article about whether Oatly Oatmilk is gluten-free. Please join my mailing list for more recipes and articles on Gluten-Free Living.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *